Shining Lights and Lasagna

Christmas Tree

Decorating the Christmas tree is one of my favorite days of the year, the sparkling lights, homemade ornaments and most of all the smell of fresh evergreen fills the home. Once the tree is up the season has begun, it is finally Christmas.

Last night my husband and I decorated our Christmas tree, this is our third Christmas as a married couple and every year we cook lasagna on the night that we decorate. Last night was no different, we made homemade lasagna (my mother’s recipe) and enjoyed a bottle of wine.

After dinner the decorating began. The lights were off except for those shining brightly from the tree, Christmas music by the “Rat Pack” was playing on the record player and we enjoyed a cup of hot chocolate with extra marshmallows.

We both love Italian food and my mother’s recipe is what I believe to be the best lasagna I have ever had. She has been cooking it for as long as I can remember and it is probably one of my top five favorite things to eat. Luckily I was blessed with a mother who is a chef and she passed the cooking skills on to me.

Because it’s the season of sharing and giving I will share my mother’s recipe, I promise if you try it, you won’t regret it.

Happy cooking, eating and decorating! As soon as I make lasagna again, I will post pictures.

Ingredients:

1 lb. of ground chuck (or ground turkey for something lighter)

12 oz. of cottage cheese large curd 2% milk

1 large jar of your favorite spaghetti sauce (I usually use Rague tomato, garlic and onion)

Lasagna noodles (oven-ready)

3-4 cups of mozzarella cheese

Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder and Italian Seasoning

Directions:

Season meat with salt, pepper, garlic powder and Italian seasoning. Brown meat until it is cooked all the way through. In a large mixing bowl combined the meat, spaghetti sauce and cottage cheese. Season with extra salt and pepper if needed. Put one spoonful and cover the bottom of a 9×13 pan. Then put a layer of lasagna noodles, covered with the meat mixture and then cheese. Repeat to make two layers. Bake on 350 for 40 minutes or until cheese is brown and noodles are soft.

Leave a Reply

